I totally, like, won!

Only this week I was glancing through my bookshelf and my eyes fell on a book called Little White Stripes, a collection of short stories written by an Australian author, Karen Hitchcock. I won this book after correctly answering a question I can no longer remember that Readings had posted on their Twitter account.

And blow me down, I’ve done it again – I’ve won a book! A book about adoption. A brand new book about adoption called Adoption Nation, by Adam Pertman, and it’s a courtesy of the lovely Mama C and her boys! She wrote a review of the book, including author commentary on questions she posed. She then asked her readers to comment about what they’d like to see a book on adoption deal with . This was my response (although I think the winners were selected randomly):

Iโ€™m currently relying on a lot of American literature about foster care adoptions, because Australia has such a poor record on adoptions generally and certainly on adopting from foster care. This book looks amazing and in addition to more Australian books, Iโ€™d love a book (or a chapter of a book at least!) to address birth parent relationships in foster care adoptions. In Australia, and I assume in America, the children in foster care adoptions have been forcibly removed from their birth parents and that creates a completely different set of complexities, challenges and opportunities when negotiating a relationship with birth parents than if the child/ren had been relinquished.

Some time has passed though between the notification of the win and me actually discovering the notification of the win though, due to some serious WordPress noob-ness. I thought I’d changed my email address over, but evidently I had not, and emails connected to this blog were going to an old, barely there email account. Plus, in a ‘total embarrassment’ moment, I’ve realised that the hyperlink provided when I comment on some blogs (including Mama C’s) has been shooting back to an old dating blog I was writing early last year. Sigh.

What a lovely way to finish of the working week though, and it’s propelled me further into Thematic Book Utopia. I received my last Book Depository order today, which is actually a family therapy workbook by Dan Hughes. Kate, who comments here, recommended his work to me, so I am looking forward to getting stuck into that. Thanks, Kate! I’m close to finishing Another Place At the Table and I want to get back to The Connected Child quickly. I haven’t even touched Nurturing Adoptions yet – I am a tad intimidated by its size, I must say. I am really feel my mind expanding, shifting and contracting as I work through all of this material.

Happy Friday all and thanks again, Mama C!

Gallery | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I totally, like, won!

  1. TortoiseMum says:

    Epic win! NOTHING better than winning books! I am still stoked about winning the book prize in grade 8 for general academic achievement. That tome on Australian Invertebrates has always had pride of place on my shelves ๐Ÿ˜€

    Enjoy!

  2. Kate says:

    Congratulations on your win!!! ๐Ÿ™‚
    I’m so glad you like Dan Hughes. I was fortunate enough to hear him speak last year. He visits Australia fairly regularly and I recommend going to a seminar if you get the chance.
    I love The Connected Child too. It’s got great information and insight, as well as being easily accessible for my foggy mum-brain, lol.

  3. Jess says:

    Thanks! Winning is awesome ๐Ÿ™‚

    Kate- will keep an eye out for Dan Hughes’ next visit.

Leave a Reply

